Skip to content

COM 460: A Day In My Life

September 27, 2013

These days I feel like I am going in a million different directions. My first occupation is a student. I am a second semester senior who can’t wait to walk in December and get my very expensive piece of  paper (aka Communications undergraduate diploma). I also work at night to pay for school and my bills. I work at the graveyard shift at UPS as part of the Metro College Program that pays my tuition and gives me a little spending money.  I also am an avid fitness enthusiast and I go to the gym between classes three times a week to stay in shape. I also have a lovely girlfriend named Jessica who I enjoy spending my free time with. I am also a son, a brother, an uncle and friend to many people. All these roles keep my days full and me constantly going. This is just an overview of a day in my life.

The area where I delegate most of my focus is school. That is the reason for my existence at the moment (well really school is just a means to a high-paying job later). I am taking five classes in my last semester (three of them communications class) at The University of Louisville. Of the five classes, three of them have group project this semester and I am the group leader in all three. I like to push myself to be a leader because I feel like it will serve me well in the future in some way. I am currently one Cultural Diversity credit short of graduation this December and I am stressed out about how in the world I am going to get it.

My UPS job is another means to an end because it pays my tuition completely. Metro College is a good program, but I sometimes feel like I am enslaved to pay my bills. On the other hand, there are a ton of college kids working there so I guess Im not the only one. The 11-4AM shift does interrupt my sleep and school schedule sometimes, but I feel like its ultimately worth it.

When Im not a school or work (or with Jessica or doing something else), I am at the gym three times a week for about an hour. I believe Im so dedicated to fitness because my senior year of high school I was one hundred pounds heavier than I am now. I have been motivated to look good without clothes ever since. Plus, it’s a good stress release.

All in all, I try to live my life as productively as possible. I guide my activity selection by asking myself “is this the most productive use of my time?”. I feel so driven to succeed in life it borders on an obsession. I can’t sit around and do nothing like other college kids because I feel crushing guilt. I just want to be great and make my parents proud.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

