Skip to content

COM 460 A Blog of My Choice

September 18, 2013

For this week’s “a blog post of your choice” post in COM 460, I will be thinking (and writing) about my future and career. Currently, I am a declared Communications major set to graduate in December 2013. I want to further my education after graduation by perusing an MBA in Marketing in January 2014. To put things simply: I greatly enjoy the task of creating, organizing, explaining, and enacting marketing campaign designed to communicate a certain message.

Marketing and PR appeals to multiple parts of who I am naturally, making it something I can enjoy doing as a career. I require organization and order to function in my daily life, so it only makes sense SWOT analysis guidelines is a good fit for me as a career. In the article “10 Questions to Ask When Creating a Social-Media Marketing Plan”, one may note that there are many details to creating something that seems as simple as a Twitter post or other campaign. The analytical side of me enjoys knowing what metrics to use to implement a plan from concept to action.

After reading through more material on marketing tips, I find myself excelling in some areas but in need of improvement in others. After reading the blog post “20 Things Every Graduating Marketing Student Needs to Know”, I came away with a sense that today’s marketing majors need to be well rounded in a lot of areas. While I have had internships in the past (with the UofL student newspaper), the article highlights how employers are looking for experienced marketers. Although, rule 11 has to be my favorite guiding force in my life in that “marketing is not just about branding or awareness-it’s about making money”. Marketing from this aspect is one few interesting fields that one can see a direct sales increase by measuring how well a campaign has gone over with the public. Again, nearly instant gratification is part of who I am as a person.

The third and final piece I found concerning what a marketer needs to have was written by Ryan Sauers of Sauers Consulting Strategies. In his article “9 Common Characteristics of Top Marketers” it is discussed in terms of personal values, creativity, a sense of “being human”, organization, and passion that allows a person to excel in promotions. Marketing requires a delicate balance of thinking like a stuffy businessman, yet being able to keep in touch with what your target audience values are. Ultimately, I feel as if I will fare well in the field of marketing even though it may be challenging and ever-changing. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

