Skip to content

Blog 10

November 29, 2012

First off, I think it is not possible to unplug from our wired lives. I myself sometimes turn off my iPhone and computer just because I don’t feel like talking to people digitally. And of course, my router never goes off. That being said and having read the article, I can relate to the author when he said it takes a conscious effort to disconnect. I, like the author, am acutely aware after I shut down my devices that I am no longer connected. It’s an awkward feeling that is hard to describe; something like being out of the loop or being left out of some on-going digital conversation that the rest of the world is having without me. Almost like putting the world on pause. The author also describes a feeling that I can relate to, a feeling that comes from after shutting the devices off and then immediately missing it. I too have reached for my phone while it was off, for what reason I don’t know. I feel like I can disconnect like I described from time to time, but it would only be for a short time.  This summarizes my experiences with attempting to disconnect, something that seems nearly impossible without conscious effort.

I do believe that disconnecting can be a good thing although it is hard for many people to do. The author describes situations like family vacations and important moments as good times to unplug. With so many devices involved in society today, it has become nearly impossible to gain somebody’s undivided attention for a long period of time. People should be aware of time when it is inappropriate to use their devices.

Finally, this course has taught me many important things about the ever-evolving communication sector. If I had to pick one important thing that this course really impressed upon me it would be the overall connectivity of our modern world. Communication technologies is a field/industry that touches nearly everybody’s life nearly all the time, whether they are aware of it or not. It is safe to say that taking this course really opened my eyes and sharpened my focus as to where a lot of profit potential is on the open market (very useful to a marketing major and communication minor student like myself). I thought it was very interest how all technologies have the s-curve form and can be used as a predictor for how well technology today will perform in future markets. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

