Skip to content

Blog #1: Radio

August 30, 2012

My name is Benjamin Chester and I am a 22 year old junior attending the University of Louisville. I am currently a Business/Marketing major who also minoring in Communications. Generally speaking, my attitude towards communication is positive, optimistic, and accepting. I am highly interested in the ways in which people communicate by means of tech devices in our modern world. I believe that technology, especially in the terms of how it affects societies communicates, has the potential for great global change.

When it comes to new technology, I am the type of person who enjoys seeing what advances developers have made. I would like to have the newest technologies on the market, but the introductory prices of most communication devices keeps me from purchasing them as soon as they come onto the market.

 

When it comes to communication mediums such as radio, I view it as highly commercialized to such an extent that I rarely use it. If I do decide to listen to radio it is usually while I am driving and have nothing else to listen to. I do however, like to tune into popular radio stations like 98.9 to hear what “new music” is being played. Having taken communication classes before, I am aware that most pop music radio stations don’t necessarily play what people request. The payola idea comes to mind quite often where music producers pay large amounts to have certain artists’ music played more than others. I am also aware that many radio stations are owned by the same parent company (Fox), a media organization that I am not a fan of. My friends and my generation in general usually share these same sentiments. Very few young people listen to the radio, and instead choose to listen to their mp3s and iTunes. My parents on the other hand do listen to the radio while driving or on Sunday afternoons, but strictly NPR, a broadcast that I myself do enjoy from time to time.

The future of radio, in my opinion, will still have an impact on our culture. Pandora radio is one such form that comes to mind when discussing where radio has came from and where it is going. Applications like Pandora allow the user to choose stations they enjoy, but also still play commercials that everybody hates. One aspect of radio that has been common throughout its history is that it does not always play what people enjoy, unlike the benefits that come from mp3s. As we discussed in class new technologies eventually replace the old, but only in slightly different forms (example: 1950’s radio cabinets vs. Pandora radio being played on a computer or some other device). I feel like radio’s future is also secure in that people sometimes enjoy the idea of just tuning in and letting things happen as they may. Radio, in whatever kind of form in presents itself, has always had the quality of ambient noise. The listener allows the DJ to do the song choosing for them, sometimes exposing the listener to things they like and sometimes not.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

